Students dancing with teacher

Butler County ESC announces 2021 scholarship recipients

Julieta Ramirez head shotRamirez was one of Ohio’s 84 top students recognized in a virtual awards program on Tuesday, April 27 by the Ohio Educational Service Center Association (OESCA) and Ohio Superintendent of Public Instruction Paolo DeMaria. She is a graduate of Lakota West High School and plans to major in biomedical science at The Ohio State University this fall.

Named in honor of Ohio’s 31st State Superintendent of Public Instruction, Franklin B. Walter, the award was established in 1989 by OESCA to promote and recognize outstanding student leaders for their academic achievement and service to their schools and communities. One senior from each county in Ohio is eligible to receive this annual honor. Eligible applicants must be a high school senior currently enrolled in a public school within an ESC’s service region. Seniors are required to demonstrate outstanding academic achievement and community service as indicated by high school grades, test scores, school and community activities and awards.

Over the past 32 years, OESCA has recognized nearly 2,600 scholars and student leaders during this event. “Ohio’s ESCs have over a century of service in providing technical assistance and support to Ohio’s schools and students, and during this event we get to see the impact of that work,” said OESCA Executive Director Craig Burford.


Kayla Prosser and her mother stand with her scholarship award

Prosser, a senior at Ross High School, received special recognition from Superintendent Chris Brown and Board President Tawana Keels at Butler County ESC’s governing board meeting on Wednesday, May 19. Prosser plans to pursue her bachelor of science in nursing at the Christ College of Nursing and Health Sciences this fall.

Graduating seniors from Lakota East, Lakota West, Madison, Monroe, New Miami or Ross High Schools ranking within the top 25% of their graduating class are eligible to apply for Butler County ESC’s Martha Seward Rahfuse Memorial Scholarship. One student is awarded the $1,000 scholarship each year.

“In order to achieve this level of success, especially during the past year, these students have demonstrated bold leadership, resilience and grit,” said Burford. “These are the same characteristics the department and state board of education promote through ‘Each Child, Our Future’ the state’s strategic plan for education.”